Dans la cuisine

I cook with wine. Sometimes I even add it to the food.

There’s a water problem. The hot water is not running, but the cold water is running hot. Phil, Richard, Paul and I scratch our heads and rub our chins. Richard evens clambers into the loft to check the header tank. The explanation, as usual, is trivially simple - the filter in the spring has blocked and the water tank is, consequently, empty. Solution: clean filter.

I head over the hill with Paul and Janice. A brief tea stop at the Piggott’s followed by a beer at Gregor’s. Ewan is in residence with Fudge and daughter, Ali Farka Tom is full of nervous energy, Aggie is refusing all alcohol. Sally and Helga arrive and the table is full.

Later, Aggie feeds me - baked gammon and veg with parsley sauce. There’s wood burning in the fireplace and music coming out of ancient, wall mounted speakers. We catch up over a box of Australian wine.

Walking back over the hill by phone light is a new experience. And when I get to Achmore, all is quiet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.