Aberdeen

Another early morning.
I booked a Taxi for 8:15 am and was at Queen Street Station in time to pick my tickets and find my seat.
I booked myself 1st class, hoping to get some time to catch up with my photos. Unfortunately my seat was not at a table and I found the space too constraint to get my macbook out. I did a bit of work emails on the phone and dosed the rest of the almost 3 hours journey. I arrived in the cold and wet Aberdeen at 11:30 am and took a taxi to the office.
Ian picked me at the reception and gave me a desk with a working computer so that I could catch up with things. I spent 3 hours in the office mainly chatting with Nicki, a girl sitting in the office I was put in. Means I did not catch up much with work, but at least a little bit.
Ian fixed my laptop and I was ready to leave just after 2 pm. He ordered me a taxi and I rerouted it to Little Belmont Street, where I had located a coffee roaster via google. I at least wanted to have seen a little bit of Aberdeen and see what they have to offer. 
The Coffee Roasters (MacBeans) was amazing and had a fantastic collection. I found it really hard to chose a sensible amount to take home. I also had a very interesting chat with the owner (another Ian). He started coffee roasting 30 years ago, way before speciality coffee became Hipster!
They do not serve coffee but he gave me directions to the "Coffee House" where they served his coffee, just around the corner. So I went there for a coffee. It was an interesting place, full of students and quite big. It had a canteen style of self service and they were incredibly slow. I drank my coffee and realised that I would miss the 3:30 pm train home. I did not worry with my open return ticket and walked to another coffee place (Craftsmen Company) close to the station and had a very late breakfast there - a so called breakfast smoothie bowl, made from chocolate, banana, oats and milk with fruit. It was very tasty. They were also coffee roasters but I managed not to buy anymore beans!
When it was time I walked to the station and found a seat with table.
I worked on my now fully functional laptop and managed to catch up with quite a few things.
I arrived in Glasgow at 7:30 pm and walked along Buchanan Street actually thinking of taking the subway home. Instead I past the station an walked into the Doc Martens shop. I left it 10 minutes later with this pair of Docs ! 
I just cannot pass those heeled docs that are as comfortable as walking boots!!
I took the taxi home and waited for Neil to have a very easy couch dinner.
So glad I am at home and am not traveling until next week when I move to Berlin for 7 days - but that is fun :) , despite I will be working there.

My blip shows MacBeans! If you love coffee and visit Aberdeen, go there its one of the tastiest and cheapest beans I have bought in ages.
Extra: a street shot in front of Aberdeen station.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.