If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Red Squirrel

A very mixed day with everything from bright sunshine to falling snow.  Looking out of the window in one of the morning sunshine spells I saw a flash of red on the trunk of the Bird's Cherry.   The first squirrel we have had for a few weeks.  However I was sure I had missed it at the feeder as they usually go there first.

Nothing ventured nothing gained I took time to put on the 300mm.  Looking out of the window there it was nibbling a nut of top of the feeder.  It stayed long enough for me to get a good number of shots.  I thought i would try Clickychick's idea of shooting from the garden.  Either it wasn't one of our usual ones or I am more frightening than she is.  I was still a good way away when it saw me and retired to the apple tree.

So I retreated and contented myself with this through the window shot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.