MonoMonday - Galashiels

I met some friends today for lunch in The Salmon in Gala. We hadnt met up for months, so there was a lot of blethering to be done. We had a lovely meal, I can recommend it for a meal, but it would be wise to book, as they are often full.

As I came out the pub, I took this shot of Cornmill Square with the fountain in the foreground and the Burgh Chambers in the background. The town war memorial is on the gable end under the clock, in front of the Reiver statue. The war memorial was erected in 1926 to honour the local war dead from the First World War, the majority of whom were killed in Gallipoli. My grandfather served in Gallipoli as a Farrier Serjeant, and made it home alive. The number thirteen is considered a lucky number in my family as there were thirteen went out to fight, but nobody seems to know if this was the case because they all came back, or if it was just my Grandfather!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.