The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

White light

This is the bedroom. I awoke far too early, and the white dog started licking my face. I  managed to get us both back to sleep, and woke to these stripes of sunlight. Snow had dusted the fields and hedgerows during the night, and the dog and I had an fun walk, where she was much better behaved than yesterday (not that I am taking any chances) and I only slipped in the mud and landed on my side once!

Sadly, I had to go and teach in Brimscombe. The return journey involved four buses, two towns and two villages, and walking uphill from the Bath Road nearly finished me off! I had to stop three times. I have high hopes of my lung function returning, but it's taking its time. I still look white and ghostly.  The white dog, whom I had washed in the white sink and blowdried after our walk, greeted me like a long lost friend. Putting the recycling out was another challenge, because of the fire-guard type fences that keep the dog in the back garden. It felt like an Operation as opposed to a chore.

Once all that was done, we settled down for an evening on the white sofa in the kitchen-dining room, with B the dog asleep beside me while I ate soup and sandwiches and watched Collateral on iPlayer. I'm pleased to report that I can get Classic FM on my digital radio here. So glad I hadn't imagined it: I struggle at home to pick up a signal. 

And so to bed again. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.