The life & times of Jacks

By Jacqueline

Thailand Trip - 2018 - Day 9

Our last full day on holiday was not as lazy as the previous days.  


We decided to get up at an earlier time and went to have a quick breakfast before heading out for a walk before the mid day sun was in the sky.  The weather was slightly cooler - I say slightly - by about 2 degrees.  We took in a last circuit of Patong wandering down along the beachfront then up one of the side roads before heading back along some back roads towards the hotel.  


Things I loved about the walk:
- the amazing buildings and their colours
- the overhead wires that often blocks out said buildings
- the chaotic traffic - it feels like you take your life in your hands every time you try to cross the street
- the amazing mountains that act as a backdrop to the chaos
- the weather


Things I disliked about the walk
- see above for most things e.g. the wires that get in the way of looking at the buildings, the weather when it gets so hot that if you are chubby like me your inner thighs rub together painfully and the roads that really do feel like you could die at any point!


On the way back from the walk we stopped in at the mall (for the AC mainly) and cooled off a little.  We had lunch by Cafe Nine (Jim Thompson restaurant - I am positive this brand/ chain used to have a place in London!).  I had massaman curry which is a new curry I tried while on holiday here and I absolutely love it!


Back to the hotel where our day was flipped about as I spent the afternoon by the pool reading my book.  I finished the second (but 12th in the series) of the Sookie Stackhouse novels I was reading and since there is only one left I hate to admit it but it's downloaded and I'm 2 chapters in......


In the evening Steve and I went up hill to another hotel for some dinner.  This place was like a warren - it was a Sofitel and built into the hill with all these little paths that the golf buggies would drive you up and down in - this was needed to get around.  I tried their green curry and while it was nice and the Chef recommended dish I actually have regret that I didn't have one last Pad Thai in Thailand.

Back to the hotel and we had one last nightcap before finishing off the rest of the packing.  Time to sleep as the pick up was booked for 6am the next morning - urgh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.