The life & times of Jacks

By Jacqueline

Thailand Trip - 2018 - Day 10 - Homeward Bound

It felt as though I didn't get any sleep at all last night.  Our pick up was due at 6am and I was terrified of sleeping in and missing it.

I didn't - phew.

It was strange seeing Patong at 6am as we drove through towards the airport - the usual busyness had completely died down although there were a few stragglers who may not have quite made it home from the previous evening's partying.  Overall, a calm had come over the town and it was the quietest we have seen it since we arrived the previous week.

I reflected on Thailand and our holiday there as we made the drive through the - quiet by local standards - streets to the airport.

1 - the bugs are relentless - I have mozzie bites that are so big that it's even freaking Steve out a bit.  We used plenty of deet and strong stuff at that but they kept a coming
2 - the food is amazing - I need to venture out with my tastes at home more
3 - the weather is just hot and hot
4 - the people are incredibly friendly

I recognise that I perhaps didn't take the time to learn more about Thai culture before the trip.

5 - It feels like a relatively safe place - even though there are degrees of poverty relative to what poverty is like at home it didn't ever feel dangerous or unsafe - and I am a paranoid person so that is saying something

I am sure that I had more observations but it's the long travel day back so I'm a wee bit dazed.  

We had heard horror stories about the time it was taking people to get through immigration on departing Phuket airport but when we checked in to check our cases, a guy working with Emirates then basically took us all the way to the begining of the immigration line (skipping even the stewards) and then the the security check so we cleared it all so much faster that expected.

After a wait in the airport and a quick nosy at the shops we  got on the flight and settled in.  I basically just read throughout the flight and then before we knew it we were coming into Dubai.

I went to pick up some anti-histimines (note point 1 - the relentless mozzies) and there was some dude going a bit ballistic at the staff there.  Apparently he wanted something he could only get on prescription in Dubai so it got all a bit tense as he wasn't really taking no for an answer.

Claritin in hand I returned to the lounge and Steve letting Steve off to go take a wander - he has just returned as I type this.  

We will shortly be getting ready to board the final leg which is a flight time of just under 8 hours back to London and then I am going straight home to bed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.