Another Snowstorm, Another Day Clearing Snow

For the last 36 hours we've watched snow falling steadily once more. I drove to town yesterday and managed to get home with a little slipping and sliding on the last 50 metres where the snow had drifted. The temperature has risen to a couple of degrees above freezing so the snow is wet and drippy.
We were happy to see our neighbour appear this morning to clear our driveway. His final act was to push towards the house and gather a last scoop of snow before backing away to dump the snow on the edge of our parking space. As a by-product of that final push there was a 2 metre wall of snow awaiting us as we dug out of the house. Here you see Jan has cleared half of it. 
While Jan was working here I was clearing the cellar steps and doorway because large quantities of snow swooshed off the roof in the night and filled in the "well" leading down to the door.  When the hole gets to be deeper than 2 metres every shovelful of wet, heavy snow has to be thrown up above head height (as Jan is doing in the picture).
After yesterday's snow clearing my shoulders and arms were already aching when I woke up this morning. Now I've added another 4 or 5 hours of digging today they are aching a little more. On the plus side, my previously injured shoulder seems to be healing well,  I'm sure all the muscles are becoming stronger, and I'm going down in weight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.