The dropped stitch

By Bodkin

Stark beauty

The swishing sounds from this turbine were wonderful.
I know if you lived too near you might feel otherwise, but this one is in fields, not too close to anyone's home.
I passed it on a never-ending track to a remote house. There was a small stream crossing the route towards the end, so I walked the last 100 yards. 
Not overly impressed when I got close enough to read the sign telling me it was NOT the house I was looking for! 
Still, I enjoyed my close encounter with the wind turbine.

The swish put me in mind of other windmill sounds. My favourite must be the mill belonging to Windy Miller in Camberwick Green. It had a mesmerising rhythmical beat. The sails were so large the tips almost brushed the ground, and they passed directly in front of Windy's front door. The gap between sails left him only seconds to enter his mill, without being hit, but he always managed it! Very pleasing.

A wooden smock mill would have had a creaking, boat-like sound, I think.

....The mind does wonder when driving along in first gear for miles, dodging the pot holes!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.