Cambo

I cycled to yoga before 8am in shorts, which was foolish as it was baltic. It was a good session but I was bothered by an older guy in front of me. After the class he started helping the young, blonde, petite woman next to him to perfect her headstand, even though she was more advanced than him. She took the advice with good humour but I wondered whether it was necessary for him to be steering her hips and putting his hands on her to steady her. Mansplaining at least. Predation at worst. Yoga is surely supposed to be a safe space and is usually female dominated.

After class I went to get some dental floss and bumped into my old colleague Esperanza, who is great fun. She left work after having triplets and having no spare minutes in the day. We had a frantic catch up as she downed an espresso on the way to taking one of her daughters to ballet.

My parents had been due to visit but illness prevented their journey. Instead I hung out all day with Berry and Helen, who were hosting Louise for a long weekend, visiting from Copenhagen. We all lived in Cambodia at the same time.

We did what we do best and had brunch at one of our favourite spots. Most of the chat was about the cast of characters in Cambodia, where there were always some dramas in the expat community. We always talk a lot about society, people and culture and the theme of demonstrating positivity towards others always crops up.

As if on cue, when I was cycling home quickly to wash (following earlier yoga class), a guy on a bike careered off the pavement into my path, causing me to swerve. I didn't display much positivity, despite earlier intentions.

Him: 'Well I knew you'd seen me'
Me: 'So you don't mind making me swerve then'
Him: 'I knew you'd go round me'
Me: <unintelligible swearing>
Him: <smug, unbothered shrug>

His logic was flawed and I told him so. The need to be more considerate to each other and to think more collectively and less individualistically is always raised by Helen, and is very valid.

We strolled around the The Backs, a sedate area where several colleges butt onto the River Cam. We saw a rat furtling and plunging into the water. Even Cambridge colleges host vermin.

The evening was occupied by indulgent company and food and some tasty sloe gin using fruit from the allotment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.