Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Kirkjufell Peak and the Atlantic Ocean

A long drive yesterday to the western most point of Iceland.  Driving in snow conditions that would be well off the UK scale.  So very well done to Cheryl for getting us there.  It was mainly snatched photos through the window but as I was sitting in the middle seat for much of the journey that simply wasn’t possible.  So this iPhone photo was taken at our first scheduled photo stop.  This mountain is quite famous and it’s named Kirkjufell,  ie church - steeple would be my guess.  I need to look it up.  I’ve only got my phone connected to the internet at the moment as I can’t remember the name of where we are staying and hence the password.  Maybe more to come when I find out.  

P.s I think we are in Olafsvik and I still need to find the name of our guest house.  These small towns along this coast remind me of the small Norwegian towns that we stopped at as we came south on the Hurtigruten ferry.  There’s something quite special about there outward facing view of the Atlantic and yet their remoteness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.