Roadside view

Change of plan today because of difficult weather conditions, which got worse and worse as we neared our guesthouse on Olafsvik.  On our route today - a harbour and a cafe (I need to find out where), a lava field in the snow and this frozen lake in a plain with mountains in the distance.  We liked the blues and the touch of colour in the sky.  (I might amend this when I get a bit more information.

The last part of our journey was either exciting or scary depending on your disposition and we ended up in a queue behind someone stuck in the snow - the wind was horrendous and I won't say any more about how it happened but the passenger side door was blown back on its hinges and simply would not close - even after the struggle against the wind.  Our thanks go to Pete who managed to get it strapped up with various belts (seat belts in the end I think) and we drove on (after the snow plough had been and cleared a way).  We now have a new 8 seater vehicle to enjoy - fortunately there already was one in Olafsvik.  I think the Northern Lights may not be on for tonight, even though the wind is forecast to die down.

Exciting!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.