Tiny crystals in a smooth boulder

A fascinating day out in London. Although the train was late arriving in Bearsted it got into Victoria early meaning I was able to get to my first meeting near the Albert Embankment at Vauxhall bang on 10.30.

I had an hour and three quarters to fill so decided to walk to Euston for my next meeting. It was after I crossed Vauxhall Bridge that I spotted today’s blip adjacent to the Thames Path.

You might ask “What’s tiny about this big boulder?” Well, it’s a small object set in a big environment of tall, bulky buildings and it’s smooth.

It’s the minerals that make up this boulder of metamorphic rock. The tiny reds, pinks, blacks and whites twisted and contorted, melded and deformed under great heat and pressure to create this wonderful natural object complimenting the river in an overwhelmingly urban environment.

My walk continued along the Thames to Westminster past Parliament, along Whitehall to Trafalgar Square, past Leicester Square, crossing Oxford Street and on through Bloomsbury to Euston. It was a walk of construction sites and coffee shops every few yards.

My meeting was in another coffee shop at Euston Square which went well, as had the morning meeting.

Time for the final walk from Euston to Regent’s Street to pick up some more coffee before finally catching the tube back to Victoria and Home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.