The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Woodchester morning

Having gone to bed early and fallen asleep immediately, I awoke before seven, and made a trip to rhe bathroom. I was followed by the cat and dog, who were sparring. The dog was trying to hide behind the loo! I persuaded the dog to go back to bed with me for a few minutes, but I was too wide awake, so got up, and noticed this spectacular sunrise from the landing window.

"Red sky in the morning: shepherd's warning". Yes, the old proverb is true, and it's now raining again. On a bright note, the 'Cultural Time Traveller' on radio 3 this morning remarked that the jigsaw puzzle could only have been invented in the UK, because it rains so often! Onwards with the infuriating art deco puzzle.

CleanSteve is coming over later to take me out for a Valentine's day supper at the pub. I note that it's also Ash Wednesday, and am glad that I dined last Thursday, not this week, with my friend Dave. He positively delights in giving up almost everything for Lent. Apparently vegetables are still ok...my days of asceticism are over.

I had a beautiful breakfast of stewed early rhubarb and cereal, followed by a rasher of bacon and a lemon and raisin pancake. Later I found a cooked sausage and ate that too. Won't be hungry again for a while!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.