Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Birthday Visitors

Backblipped on 20th October 2012

It was my birthday today.

However, there was no cake, no celebrations, and I was too ill even to open a card.

I was still really really poorly. Managed to crawl to the bathroom, and the next thing I knew I was coming round on the floor, having passed out completely unconscious.

At that point the Wonderspouse called the doctor. They advised him to call an ambulance.

I'd crawled out of the bathroom onto the landing by the time they arrived. The ambulance lady sat on a sack of rat food to tend to me. Apparently I was talking about my "other husband"!!!!

The ambulance people got me back to the sofa. They wanted to admit me to hospital, but when the Wonderspouse explained about our transport situation they agreed to let me stay at home on condition that he called them straight back if I got any worse.

They wanted to know if I'd hit my head when I passed out. I didn't know. I was running a temperature of 40 degrees and was pretty much out of it.

Paracetamol, rest, fluids. Loads of measurements were taken.

Lucozade was recommended. Wonderspouse had to walk to town and back to get it when he could (around 5 miles round trip).

Don't remember much of what happened after the ambulance people left. I spent the rest of the day drifting in and out of consciousness. From that point on, the Wonderspouse even had to accompany me to the bathroom. I was also so weak that getting there to be sick was not an option. I was installed on the sofa with a bowl.

It was officially the WORST birthday in the history of birthdays.

I did remember to take a photo. Think the ambulance woman thought my cries of "must blip, must blip" were probably fever induced - although it was probably the most normal thing I did that day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.