Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

My Hairbrush

Backblipped on 20th October 2012

Today I was supposed to be having birthday lunch with Scharwenka.

Instead I was at home, on the sofa, being taken to the bathroom when necessary by the Wonderspouse. Poor Wonderspouse had only just had his mother's funeral, and now he'd become a full-time carer for his sick wife.

I couldn't sleep at night, so watched Richard Fortey's documentary about Survivors on the DVD all night.

I just lay on the sofa all day.

Having been too weak to bathe I was getting rather nasty and smelly. Today's achievement was to have a bath. The Wonderspouse lifted me in and out. He washed me. He washed my hair. He gave me one of his clean t-shirts to wear. He dressed me.

At such times the phrase "in sickness and in health" really does show its meaning.

Even though all I had to do was sit there, it took all my energy and strength and determination.

At least I was clean though.

The Wonderspouse had also taken over doing the washing and was feeding all the animals. I was still too unwell to do anything at all.

The ambulance people had said it would be around 6 weeks before I was better. Felt like it was going to be a long 6 weeks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.