Mrs Happy

By Riwaka7

But what's it called? Horizontal orb web spider.

I did have a quick look in my spider book but hoping someone will take one look and say " its a ......"
I only found it because we had visitors today, two sets of twin girls and their parents. Trev's family from Invercargill.
The older girls are nearly 3 and needed to be shown all the flowers and vegetables so they could sniff and smell and chomp on some. We found the web and spider in amongst the citrus trees when we went to pick a lemonade fruit each.
The other twins are 9 months,  I know you will ask.

When I went to take this a bit of a breeze came up which made it interesting. With the macro lens, on the biggest challenge was finding the jolly thing and getting a focus on it. I thought it looked hot so added some water spray.

The sharpest is my main blip and a couple of extras showing the web. It was at about shoulder height.It looked greenish through the lens but maybe that was reflection from the leaves as looked more brown or gold on screen.
Name added thanks to cabbage tree.

I never felt scared of it and had to get close as I was sure it wasn't a jumper. I'm not sure what it hopes to catch there but will keep an eye out and see. I got quite fascinated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.