VaLONDONtine's Day

I dropped my passport and associated paraphernalia off early for my Liberian visa application. The tube during rush hour was a loathsome experience and the people who do it daily are more resilient than me. After a day of meetings in London, the rain fell harder and I couldn't believe the congestion at Oxford Circus tube station. Gates were shut like commuters were steerage passengers on the Titanic, and the scene was equally as wet. An ocean of umbrellas blocked the pavements as people queued. I don't know why they were happy to wait in that maelstrom. I just wanted to get the hell away. So I did: to eat Thai food and drink gin.

One of the meetings I had today was about our South Sudan work with the Foreign and Commonwealth Office. We were kept waiting at the entrance, as civil servants aren't usually in a rush to keep NGO workers sweet. Two staffers saw a clip of Boris Johnson blathering on a video screen and performed much eye rolling and muttering, which made us smirk. I suppose having respect for one's boss is an important aspect of motivation and I wonder how many FCO staff agree with Boris's hardline stance on the EU. My guess is a minority.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.