Skyroad

By Skyroad

Sun Dog

My wife is presently in the air, or waiting to take off at least: London to Buenos Ares, where she'll be spending a busy week (meetings, talks, etc.). After dropping her off at Dublin Airport and heading home across the city, I persuaded our son to take a detour onto the Poolbeg Peninsula. It was a lovely evening, very mellow and bright (though of course also heavy, loaded with memory, nostalgia, etc.). Along Pigeon House Road I stopped to pick up a muddy abandoned basketball for him to play with. Soon afterwards, we pulled in along the Sandymount Strand side. The tide was mostly in though there was enough beach left to tempt a few people. He stripped down to his underpants and waded in, asking me to throw him the ball. We kicked and tossed it at each other for awhile. Not much of a game really. Then along came this couple with their amazing greyhound (or whippet or whatever) and it went hysterical with the ball. Lovely to watch. I took a few shots of my son with his new companion, but the dog itself was so extraordinary looking (apparently healthy and yet so sere, like a stylised cut-out dog or something from the margins of The Book of Kells). So I settled on the above blip. Notice that you can actually see the sun shining through its back legs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.