Nothing happens here...

By StuartDB

Inspiration

When Blipper gblrps posted his pic of a South Lanarkshire cottage I just knew I'd have to make a model of it.  When I received a couple of extras I set about working out how to portray the dereliction.  A lot will be down to dry brushing and splatter painting but there is an element of depth that I have to encompass.  Very challenging, great fun.  

This pic shows the very first stage in the model.  I'll build the front porch next then the two corrugated out houses.  As it's derelict I'll have to try and show more interior detail than usual and some interior decoration.  (That'll be fun).

There'll be an element of modeller's licence too.  This house appears to be deeper than the standard Scottish build but I'll make it the normal Port Appin width - as it would have been.  There is also the remains of an outhouse on the back which I'll leave off.  Regular viewers of Port Appin dioramas will know that I rarely show the rear views although all but one of my buildings - the Innellan block - have detailed backs.  Innellan hasn't because there are no pics anywhere in the universe to show what the backs looked like.  That irritated me quite a lot!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.