Transitoire

By Transitoire

Road-trip

Yes, the same word in French (cheers Thomas)! Today Laura, Becky, Claire, Kendra and I went to Honfleur...and what a gorgeous looking town it is as well. More on this later...

Spent the night chez Laura, as we decided it would be too much hassle for me to get the last tram home then wake up early to get back to Laura's the next day. So the aforementioned girls, and Lisa (who couldn't come to Honfleur because she was going on the Cider Trail!) had a film night in. With wine. Lots of it. We watched Hors de Prix, and then spent the entirety of the next film talking. Great, relaxed evening...and almost a night in! In the words of Audrey Tautou as Irène, apparently Je veux..., and J'aimerais... will drive anyone mad and make them buy you things. We shall see, Andy watch out!

Anyways, back to today. Woke up early(ish) and had pistachios, black coffee and biscuits for breakfast (everything else in the apartment had been eaten the night before!) and ended up having yet more coffee when the others arrived. Suitably caffeinated we set off on a journey that can only be described as interesting. If you imagine driving in Wales (single country lanes with tractors coming at you)...well that was our journey. We even saw people shooting things with rifles! Laura was an absolute star driving us the entire way, and coping with the occasional sat-nav blip. I'm afraid I wasn't much help, as although I was sitting in the front...I can't understand German so could only look at the pictures! Oh, and I did squeak quite a lot when other vehicles (mainly big ones) were coming at us quite fast. We managed to get to Honfleur in amazing time and spent the day looking round and generally acting like tourists, hence the photograph of my long-suffering victims models.

Had a pretty awesome lunch at a little restaurant overlooking the harbour. Salade au chèvre, moules marinières avec frites et une crêpe for twelve euros is not a bad deal I would say? After lunch we went to a little antique decoration shop, and I had to keep reminding myself that I would have to take anything I bought home! Claire however, managed to buy a full ceramic bathroom set for 7.50, bargain. I compromised with a little poster of the Chemins de Fer de l'État and a rather apt postcard which said:-

Il vaut mieux être saoul que con, ça dure moins longtemps
It is better to be drunk than stupid, it lasts less time

So, after our day out everyone was knackered, so of course we thought the best thing to do was to go to IKEA. Claire and I obviously didn't buy a cuddly toy mouse for 99 cents because we thought it was cute. After this little excursion we all joined Thomas for a meal out in Dolly's - was so nice to taste a proper cheddar cheese again! After a quick drink at Café Latin it was hometime and bedtime for all. What an amazingly fun day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.