Salvage from the Wreckage

By NickMogToo

P4 CDs

This was my Grandfather’s music centre. I inherited it and it’s been sitting idly for several years. I’ve dusted it down and tried it out. It was an expensive piece of kit in its day and it still sounds pretty good. Maybe a bit warm for the HiFi purist but a nice sound.
Unfortunately B&O made their own cartridges which mounted directly onto the arms with no head shell. This made for a beautifully light set-up but meant that you couldn’t use other cartridges and, now, you can’t get replacements. This one has done a lot of miles so I won’t trust it with any of my vinyl (this was a tired record of my uncle’s that he gave me after I transferred it to CD for him).
I can plug in my Project turntable as an Auxillary input so will try that.

Works as a nice FM radio too. Must try the cassette deck as well.

Yeah, yeah, ran in the morning. Before the snow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.