Its the Way It Is

By Jeano

Setting Point

I was minding my darling grand-daughter for a few days as it is mid-term in Ireland.     I told her that I made some marmalade last week and I needed to test if it had set properly.    I also told her that the only reliable way to do this is to hold a jar of it upside down over a person's head to be sure it really was set.   She played along and we had such great fun setting this up.  We were giggling before I took this shot and I had to wait until she could muster a really scared, anxious face before I clicked.  In fairness, I think she played her part well.  This is my best marmalade to date I am proud to say and it stood the acid test.   

In return for this 'studio' time I made her pancakes with lemon and  sugar and we spent the morning watching The Wind in the Willows (oh I do envy Toad that airplane).   It was then time to decamp for Dun Laoghaire for a walk down the pier and a browse in the Art & Hobby Shop.  I treated myself to a pocket size box of water colours and a dote of a fold up paint brush along with some water colour paper which has the format of a postcard on the back of each sheet and you can paint a scene on your travels and actually post the card to a friend.  What a nice idea !  (my extra shows those items).

It has been a glorious day in Dublin today.  I am going travelling tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.