RSD Photo's SoCal Life

By rsdphotography

Experimental Photography 14

It was car repair day today, a perfect time to try the shallow depth of focus challenge. I have had a persistent rattle in my front end for months. While I was getting my oil changed in December the mechanic called me over and showed me a loose bolt on one of the suspension struts. Today I was determined to get it fixed. I visited my favorite auto mechanic to have him assess the problem. Sure enough, he found the loose bolt right away and told me I needed two new ones from the AutoZone. Those were the only words (two and AutoZone) in the torrent of Spanish he unleashed that I understood. I was at a loss as to what I would be asking the AutoZone guy for and managed to blurt out, Qué palabras - what words. He had his assistant come over and write out a description that included the word cacahuete - peanut which I thought I had heard him say but which made no sense when talking about a car part. Regardless, I headed off to the AutoZone, where the clerk merely nodded his head and went in the back, returning with two boxes. 

I returned to my mechanic where I was prepared to leave my vehicle for him to replace the bolts. Imagine my surprise when he brought over the jack pictured above and proceeded to change out both parts right then and there. Imagine my further surprise when he charged me only 150 pesos, about $8 usd, for the fifteen minutes of time he spent doing that in the middle of the day with other cars in his shop needing service (in fact, he was working on a car when I originally showed up). There is a reason he is my favorite auto mechanic!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.