Tankersley

We were orienteering north east of Sheffield this morning at Tankersley Woods.  It's a complex little area which historically has been worked for coal and iron so there are lots of slopes, bell-pits and other Victorian and earlier earth workings.  I was moving quite well through the area and navigating okay till I lost concentration on the way from no 4-5, losing several minutes.  I put my head back on till leaving no. 11 when I made the fatal mistake of changing my plan and once again was confused by the network of paths.  It wasn't till I chatted with friend Lynden afterwards that she pointed out the very obvious lower route I had missed to no.12!!  Note to self - look more widely around the leg before setting off!  So I'll have finished down the field, certainly much lower than Kiteseeker who was in second place when we left for home.  Sheila24 was third on her course too!

Back home it was early bath and then on with the sunday roast and yorkshire puds!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.