AOG Ice Skating....

Some of you may recall my reporting on the deplorable conditions of the Olympic Ice Rink prior to the opening ceremonies. The rink crew worked around the clock to get it in order, however, due to the unexpected "warmer" temperatures this week, the rink is quickly melting. In spite of the wet conditions, Team Gulls' Flyboy performed the first 3 minutes of his 4 minute free skate flawlessly! Unfortunately,  in the last minute, he lost his concentration and skated too close to the edge of the ice! Unable to turn in time, he was forced to take off rather than fall into the water, and was disqualified! A devastated Flyboy, when later interviewed by this reporter, refused to blame the melting ice for his problem, as "all the skaters had the same melting rink conditions" as he did!! "In my excitement at landing all my jumps cleanly, I lost my concentration and made a mistake that cost me any hope for a medal. I have no one to blame but myself, & am sorry I let the team down"!  :((
Besides covering the ice skating today, we all had a fun day here at the house! We played "break the ice" and "Disney Monopoly" before the twins ran outside to play in the snow. They haven't had any snow this winter at all, so wanted to play in what snow we have left and make a snowman! Although the snow was good for packing, there wasn't a whole lot of it,  so their snowman is a very skinny and not very tall snowman!  It MIGHT have gotten close to two and a half feet tall, but even though it wasn't very big they really enjoyed themselves!  :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.