The dog's muggins

We had very heavy rain most of yesterday and all through the night, but luckily it stopped just as I was getting ready to walk Jasper. For a while we were walking in the cloud but after about forty minutes the sun came out.

Sunday's a hunting day and so we kept to the roads for a while but, since I couldn't hear any shots, we took the turbine road to the Mas... where the stray dog was waiting for me.

Bother! I'd been hoping that because I hadn't fed him since Thursday he might have moved on, but he hadn't and so of course (muggins that I am) I poured him a heap of dried dog food in the woods (all the while thinking that I shouldn't be doing this) and left him to it. Next time, and I'm sure he'll still be there next time, I must shoo him away and must not give him any more food.

I'm not convinced that he can see properly actually, which might account for why he's roaming... it's no good owning a hunting dog that can't see.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.