The fool on the hill

By mooncoin

35 years in the making

For our GSE (as they were then called) project at school me and my pal Paul Moore made a model boat each (we both got grade 1s and all we did was transfer our model making hobby from home to school - we made a control line aeroplane each too. It was great!) Anyhow, mine then sat in my parent's attic for 30-odd years with an occasional foray into getting it afloat but it never did see a drop of water.
I've decided it is now the right time to complete the project. I found a suitable motor in an old electric drill; a motor mount in the shape of a gusset for an aeroplane wing; a drive shaft conector from a bit of garden hose and an old tripod; the batteries are taken from machines at work and an ice cream tub provides a water-proof box to put the radio gear in. It all looks a bit rough but it goes with the rest of the boat (heaven knows how it was worth a grade 1).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.