Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

End of the Moor Road

A 60km bike ride for Sunday morning. Most of the snow and ice has melted, so I feel pretty safe about cycling up the higher roads in the Scottish Borders. I head out on to the Seafield Moor Road, the turn off to head through Bush to Gowkley Moss, then down to Auchendinny.

There's a long climb up from Auchendinny to Howgate, then a bit of rolling from here through Leadburn and Lamancha to Romannobridge. There is some snow at the side of the road, so it is with some apprehension I take to road through Bogsbank to West Linton, butthere's even less snow and ice here.

Turning on to Deanfoot road takes me to Harlaw Muir and past Auchencrth Moss and Hare Moss. Almost altitude training, its 2 degC here, but at least to road is not as bumpy as the A701.

The blip photo is the S-bend just as the road drops down from the moor (hence the Moor Road) just before Ravensneuk Farm.You can see some ice, and the road is incredibly bumpy here. Its a short ride though, back to the A701. The A701 drops down to Penicuik, I head through the town and I turn off at Gowkley Moss to head back home through Bush and along the Seafield Moor Road.

After lunch, I head down to Bruntsfield to visit a bike shop, then meet up with my partner for afternoon coffee.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.