SNOW!

After I spent the day photographing Bhutanese people, Bella and Evan came to spend the evening with me while their mom worked, and it snowed like mad. Great fat flakes of snow, waves of snow as in the famous snow scene in Ikiru. (Only a minute and a half, and one of the great moments in cinema, in my opinion, no matter how many times you may have seen it before. I just watched it four more times when I looked it up for this Blip.) 

I let the children go outside at 10 p.m. to scoop snow off cars and throw snowballs at me, at the sidewalk, and even at each other. We whooped and squealed and had a great time, and I hope we didn’t wake up too many of the neighbors. I felt a little guilty for not shushing the children, but I had to let them go. Because life is brief. 

This is what I saw when I looked out my window at 7 a.m. today. (I should probably explain the cars are all parked, except for the black one you can barely see against the black pavement.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.