... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Egyptian Geese: taken under its wing!

Back blip.
Better in large (press "L").

I'm afraid this weekend will be an Egyptian goose "double bill"... They'll fly off soon (sob), so I'm making the most of them while they're still around and posing.

I visited the pond on this particularly grey morning with the intention of mounting an organised rescue attempt on the fettered fledgling: I went with my mother, and we had a towel, and scissors, and goose food, and a roll (as a lure), and we had both prepared ourselves mentally for the mud and wetness.
When we arrived there was a huddle of three people standing by the geese and talking: it turns out that these three were Ann (a local animal rescuer), Lawrence (from the Swan Sanctuary), and someone else helpful. The fledgling was on the island, but they were making plans for a rescue attempt later in the day.
It was a relief to see others organising themselves: Ann gave me her card so I have her number should I need a rescuer in the future! Lawrence came in a promising-looking van and was prepared to take the fledgling away to be checked-over once freed.
Fingers crossed! I was unable to join them because it was a friend's birthday party in the evening...

This fledgling was standing on a mound of earth by the hole that Lambeth are digging out behind the pond (to create wetlands): in the background are the wild flowers that Lambeth planted earlier this year, and also the many people who were playing sports (Frisbee and ball games) on the common (in high-vis jackets and vari-coloured sports clothes...). This fledgling was striking a pose: "Those people may be able to run and throw a Frisbee, but look: wings!".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.