... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Egyptian Geese: "I'm s[wimm]ing in the rain..

I've just back blipped a flapping fledgling for yesterday's picture.

I visited the pond this morning hoping to find the fledgling freed (see yesterday's blip). Instead, I found the same three rescuers discussing their plan of attack for today. At least they're persevering and making plans! Fingers crossed, again... *Sigh*

I didn't stay long at the pond because it was alternating between raining and drizzling, which was less fun than it sounds (...); I got a few shots of the parents through autumnal leaves, but like this picture because it shows a new development: the fledglings (this one much more noticeably than any of the others) are starting to develop patches around their eyes! The patches start as dark brackets or rings (as this fledgling is demonstrating), and spread out (fairly patchily; definitely unevenly) until they've nice dark eye patches.
Detail much more visible in large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.