The second half of life..

By twigs

Hanging in there

With the closure of school after period 3 to help ensure the safety of students, I too headed home and hunkered down, not quite sure what to expect from the tail end of Cyclone Gita.  It rained most of the day but the wind did't really start to pick up until later into the afternoon, at which time the rain stopped.  It's been a weird day hanging around at home waiting for 'something' to happen but not really knowing what to expect.  It's now 9.45 and I think the worst has passed.  To be honest, I feel like we've dodged a bullet in this area.  Other areas have not been so fortunate and I can see from newsreels that other parts of the region and island have suffered pretty badly.  Let's hope the worst is over and those affected can begin to pick up the pieces soon.

In the meantime, I'm off to bed for a long, long sleep, quietly hoping that the winds will not return.

It's been an odd experience.  All (many) precautions were taken thus risks to person and property were minimised.  The fact that it's been a bit of a non-event (in my home area at least) may have some questioning the value of the closures etc.  Imagine if it were the other way around though - no closures and then mass, widespread destruction.  The powers that be would be slammed.  I guess they're in a no-win situation - they're damned if they do and they're damned if they don't.  My default is to err on the side of caution so I applaud the decision makers big calls.

Thoughts and aroha go out to those affected who have suffered flood damage or wind damage.  Hang in there.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.