Winter nostalgia...

The Chocolate Quarter, Somerdale

A morning visit for coffee at a new cafe/restaurant in the recently opened Chocolate Quarter, a redevelopment of the 1920s Somerdale Chocolate Factory. Originally built by the Fry family, the factory went on to be run by Cadburys, before being bought out by Kraft Foods who then closed the factory in 2011.

There’s a lot of history in this building, and a lot of controversy over the development. If you’re interested in finding out more, I’ve included a couple of links.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Somerdale_Factory

http://thechocolatequarter.org.uk/live-in-a-landmark/

It was a real trip down memory lane for me, and I have many tales to tell of my own personal links to the Cadburys factory, but I’m afraid they’ll have to wait until another day. I was only out for an hour, and there was no walking involved, but the outing finished me off for the day. Day 16 of feeling like this, totally fed up. Sorry for whinging...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.