Rocky Road

Lovely fun day today! This morning I walked with a group in Paradise Valley, along the levada da serra do faial. There were no particularly spectacular views, and the walk was the easiest levada walk I've ever done, but as usual the trees and flowers were so attractive. And we did stop at a fine coffee shop. I'm afraid I seemed to be the only member of the party to indulge in cake - Apple & Banana Cake: as easy as ABC! The minibus journeys to our start and from our finish were as much delight as the walk. We passed close to the airport and I saw one plane take off and another landing on the short runway.

On my return, Mr PP and I decided to take a #2 yellow bus west of Funchal and see how far we might walk further along the coastal path (Mr PP's hip permitting). We wound up at the fishing village of Camara de Lobos, and then caught a different bus company's vehicle all the way back to Funchal. Fabulous views as the sun sank low, sparkling on the sea, including my Extra. But for my main blip, here's a look ahead further west. Just loved the angles adding features and expression to this rock to the left of the picture!

We surveyed a couple of restaurants and had more or less decided to return for dinner later when they opened. Then we simultaneouly pictured the scene: we walk in, collapse, and are too wrecked to set out again. So, instead, we were easily led into the Victoria street cafe at the bottom of our road. The food was delicious! Somehow we weren't too tired for three courses (!) but now we're almost ready for bed.

By the way, today was nice and warm in Funchal - cooler 'upstairs' as the locals in Funchal describe heading north! - but, we've learned today that it's not just our imagination: this is the coldest February they have had for 40 years. (I know, I know. Still much warmer than home!)

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.