Not only, but also ...

Not only is this the first reed bunting (Emberiza schoeniclus) I've ever seen and identified - but also - he was in our garden! Those who follow my journal can imagine just how excited I was!

Have waited to blip in the hope that he might return for me to grab a better photo but, now it's beginning to go dark, I'll have to be satisfied with these I snatched hurriedly through the window before he flew off. Isn't he handsome!

Thanks to cailleach for hosting Wild Wednesday. (Sorry it's not a tree in honour of Joe Tree who started this wonderful site - but I have added one as an Extra - my favourite oak that we pass most days on our walk!)

It's been a very mild day, with light cloud and sunny intervals. Spent quite a long time gardening - cutting back buddleias and dead-heading hydrangeas. Very satisfying.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.