King of the Seaside

I'm big on the quay-side
King of the Seaside
Feeling on the free side:
A herring gull*, me.

I never have enough
Of strutting my stuff
With my feathers all a-fluff:
I'm a herring gull, me.

I shall fly in your face
If I spot the faintest trace
Of chips about the place:
I'm a herring gull, see!


© Celia Warren 2019

... which is why it's safest to take your fish and chips home to eat or, as we did today, go into a restaurant. Rockfish in Dartmouth has both a takeway shop and a restaurant - and their fish and chips aren't half tasty!

The sharp shadow of this enormous gull is evidence of what a glorious, sunny day it's been. Line dancing tonight. Hoorah!

*EDIT since blipper mollyblobs kindly and gently pointed out that I'd misidentified the gull: it's actually a lesser black-backed gull, which we agree doesn't scan as well - so a herring gull it remains in my verse - with poetic licence! Glad to have the identity right now though!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.