NOBODY PANIC!!!!

I have been terribly awol of late and gave many blips to upload but I’m just not feeling it.

Anyway, as today featured a significant(ish) event I felt I should record it. But first I need to mention that approximately 9 years ago, The Boy was unwell with ‘a cold’.

On day 1 dragged him to soft play where he spectacularly vomited so we went home. On day 2 I dragged him to a friend’s house on a play date. On day 3 I dragged him to the park where he just laid on a bench panting. At this point I decided I maybe he should see the GP who immediately diagnosed pneumonia and sent us straight off to the hospital.

So back to today:
At 3.30 I was woken by Smallest sobbing/coughing/moaning in the bathroom. He had a fever and was complaining of a sore throat so he had paracetamol and came to bed with me.
This morning he wasn’t any better so a day off was declared. He stayed in bed dozing until about 11 then appeared downstairs. We cosied up on the sofa and started watching films. His breath got ‘raspier’ and he was just hot and lethargic, unwilling to eat or drink.

Clare came round 2ish and by the 3rd film on the trot without any signs of restlessness plus a hint of concern from my nurse friend, I rang the GP who called back quickly and booked us in for 4.20. The GP was sufficiently concerned about Smallest’s deterioration through the day and his obs (temp of 39.8) to contact the paediatric ward who asked for him to come over! Deja vu!

Anyway, as children do, Smallest rallied as we were there. His chest is clear but his throat is very swollen and is causing the laboured breathing so we’ve been sent home with a 10 day course of antibiotics and a few more grey hairs...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.