Falling apart but still pretty in pink

Back home - and this rose looks decidedly elegant as it falls into bits. That's NOT how I feel, after a very tiring return journey.

Very early start at Bergerac airport - still horrendously rainy and foggy. We heard our plane arriving where we were all lined up (Ryanair style) to make a quick embarkation. But nothing arrived. A bit later, there was an announcement that the plane had tried to land but hadn't been able to. It would probably have another go ! Not words to inspire confidence (particularly with some of the recent reports about fuel stinginess and Ryanair!) But we were lucky and it swept through the spray and ground to a halt.

Still rain. But OK when we got back to East Midlands. And when I got home, Cyd (who had been missing last weekend) was waiting to make me feel guilty.

Yesterday in Sarlat had been marvellous. The market and the medieval town are splendid and the rain eased a little while I looked at all those stalls of foie gras, mushrooms, nougat and other delicacies. (I may put some pics on Twitpic). But as I drove back to my hotel, I noticed lots of cars who hadn't been so lucky - and one still had the pompiers waiting as it lay in the ditch on its roof.

I had a marvellous time with my niece and her family - but I won't be rushing back to drive in France in the near future

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.