horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Salmon Crescent

Down to Philiphaugh Cauld near Selkirk to see the salmon leaping today, and they didn't disappoint. Unlike last year we had sunshine, and took advantage by popping over to the other side of the river from the normal visitor's centre bit, getting the sun behind, and a grandstand view of the beautiful colours of some of the leapers (especially this bright orange one).

It wasn't just the Salmon that were providing wildlife highlights however, as a lovely Jay landed in a tree 30-40 yards away; and then returning to the car I spotted something looking not entirely unlike, but completely different from, a squirrel running across the road a distance away. Then the squeaking started as a wee fight/play broke out, and I grabbed the camera to see a pair of stoats mucking about right at the very end of my 500mm ability.

Came home via the back roads to Innerleithen, and a stop in a cafe for a wee bite. All quite relaxed and sunny and pleasant. Just what a Sunday should be.

p.s. getting frustrated by my macaroons now. They taste great; the texture is perfect; I'm not losing any at all to cracking; but yet, for some reason, that lovely shiny finish is escaping me. Although last night's test confirmed to me that I think I'm actually better making them on greaseproof paper and a baking sheet than the silicone sheet (that is specifically for macaroons). So tonight, instead of sweet stuff, I'll be indulging in the annual ritual of making ketchup from our own tomatoes - two batches this year since the weather was so non-conducive to tomato ripening - there'll be an orange one (which will be spicy), and a green one (mild).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.