Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Sad Day

This morning I awakened to find Mel putting her final things in the car. I do feel very sorry that our dogs weren't getting on, but I had no choice other than to ask her to take it away and it was logical that she had to find somewhere to live where she could keep it with her. Her room is empty, as is the bathroom now her soaps, creams and lotions have disappeared from the surfaces. Mel was as nice a person to live with that one could hope for and I sincerely wish her well and hope her new flat can be her permanent home for the future.

Lady D was of course here but, after a late slice of toast it was all soon time to take her, armed with her pheasant, to the train. It was good to see her well and obviously enjoying university life, both the course she is taking and the company of flatmates that get on very well together. She's a lovely girl and her presence is always welcome.

The really sad news came not long after I returned home. Irene's son called me to tell me that she has died. She was a marvel at recovering from adversities and, in the knowledge that she was getting stronger after a fall in September, nobody expected a very sudden and fatal seizure. Irene became an important part of my life. I will miss her very much but her influence will remain with me for the rest of my days.

Please excuse me, but I will not be making any comments for the time being.

The cows looked a bit sad in the drizzle, surrounded by Jackdaws, Rooks and Crows . I wasn't up to going out for a blip so here they are, seemingly in deep thought... a bit like me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.