Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Cauliflower Fungus

I didn't have my camera with me this afternoon but, these are now in my kitchen and will be ready to eat very shortly

The Agaric Mushooms are possibly the best known and most common but, it's the one in the basket that is most interesting. The Cauliflower Fungus, Sparissis Crispa, grows at the base of old conifer trees. It isn't rare but relatively unknown as an edible fungus. They can grow large enough to feed a family.

To eat them they have to be collected young like this one and need careful cleaning to rid them of needles and insects that like to hide in amongst the fronds.

I fry up a little garlic, chilli, then add the clean fungus. Once the water that has reduced to nothing I add chopped tomatoes, season well and cook for 30 minutes. Serve on toast or as a pasta sauce with a sprinkling of parsley. Delicious!

I'd better go and taste my finds!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.