An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

More vintage crockery...

Woke up feeling remarkably ok given the late night last night not to mention the gin, wine and cointreau that was consumed!

Breakfast was rolls and sausage for us meat eaters and eggs for Agnes the veggie. D & A headed off to play golf and Agnes I ventured into the games room to unpack the dining room boxes that were still untouched from the move as I'd nowhere to put the stuff. (A phone call on Friday confirming delivery this Thursday of the cabinet and side board we ordered in JUNE (!) meant I could, at last, unpack those boxes.)

As well as my own wedding china, we unpacked this china tea set that was a wedding gift to David's mum and dad when they married in 1957.

The cups are so delicate and fine that you can almost see through them and I love the pale mint green colour of the insides. There are 12 cups and saucers, 12 tea plates, sugar bowl, milk jug and cake plate and not a mark or chip on any of them. I have only managed to look after them as well as Mum L did by hiding them away and not using them but like her 70s coffee set I feel I want to use them and enjoy them so I suppose I'll ljust to accept an element of risk.

The unpacking almost never happened as Agnes and I began by going through the box of Duran Duran memoribilia and having a right old hoot to ourselves as well as cringing with embarrassment at some of the memories it evoked!

A & A have now headed home, D has nicked out to get us a chinese takeaway for tea then it will be time to get prepared for school going back tomorrow! So looking forward to that 6.00am rise.......NOT!

Backblipped yesterday's Key Lime Pie :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.