Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Solace: Day 3

There are some folks I need to talk to:-

Chippy, you couldn't come with us this time, but there will be halcyon days next year!
Katkatkat, so sorry for seeing a kingfisher again without you. You will be with us tomorrow and we'll be on the look-out!
Mother, you're safe and snug at home this time, and would have been asleep in the afternoon, anyway, when I saw this!

My first words this morning were: "Let me out!" I could see through the window that the canal was shrouded in mist. I took a lot of shots, then, just before we untied, a pair of swans came floating, out of the mist, towards me. That's the shot of the day, I thought.

The thick mist stayed until after lunchtime. We ambled our way along to a winding hole and I turned the boat around.

It was on the return journey this afternoon that I spotted some activity through the boat's front windows. I ran for my camera, fussed about with lenses and thought I was too late. But, no! I saw the blue flash ahead of us on the canal. I watched carefully, then I saw it again!

It dived, it splashed it flew up, it sat with a fish in its mouth, it posed. I had all that in the camera!

OK. Moving bird, moving boat, lens at full stretch, hand held, the shots were very blurred not as sharp as they may have been. So out of about 40 I'm left with a couple of typical shots like Friday's and this one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.