Mistery

I feel like a bit of a fraud. I've been going on about the pressure of work and how much there is to do and I've just gone and spent the whole day outdoors. There was no intention of doing that. It just evolved. The weather forecast yesterday wasn't that promising but it turned out to be an utterly perfect autumn day. I think I can say that it's been the most beautiful day to be out since those heady summer days we enjoyed back in March!

The shot I've posted is just about the first I took and actually the last one I came back to look at. Even though I say so myself, I have taken some lovely photographs today. The light was amazing and the mist, when it burnt off, lingered as a haze which imbued the scenery with the most heavenly pastel colours and softness. To be honest, it was mostly too subtle to capture on camera.

So, I headed out on the bike first thing and bimbled about all over the place, seeking out places I don't often get to and stopping often. I felt quite tired after a long day at the computer yesterday and felt in no need to rush. I returned to Ilkley at lunchtime and was just about to get back to the grind when I could see big banks of mist rolling up the valley from the east and pooling on the north side of the town. It was impossible to resist going for a run to explore the possibilities.

I returned from that run and was recharging the batteries, both mine and the camera, when I could see that the mist was now creeping up the side of the moor on the south side of town. Cue another run. There were so many people out. Indeed, I've been bumping into friends all day on bike and on foot. It's actually been quite a social day in a way.

Writing this quickly so I can post and get some food. I've had no chance to eat all day and I'm now feeling very hungry. Hope you've had as good a day as I have!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.