Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Oystercatcher

Well, I survived the lunch! 2 bottles of prosecco between the three of us, but I was very canny and drunk much slower than the other two :)
It was very nice to catch up with the two ladies, even if we don't have that much in common - they are a good giggle, especially after a couple of glasses of anything. 

I popped down to Budle Bay this morning before lunch to see if there were any waders around as the tide was due to be out. Eventually I found the "parking" spots by the side of the road, and as the wind was so cold, decided that the best thing to do was to stay in the car, sit in the passenger seat and roll down the window. It seemed to work well and there were a fair few birds around - quite a lot of gulls, as you would imagine, being by the sea, shelducks, widgeon, some redshank and a few oystercatchers. I enjoyed watching this one digging for worms in the multitude of worm casts that were around.
All too soon, it was time to go back for lunch - I think I will go again before the holiday is finished as it is only 10 minutes drive and nice to be able to stay out of the wind - depends on the weather I guess. I did see a couple of curlew, but they were not so close - maybe next time I will get a good shot - I've never blipped a curlew before!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.