Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

Hog Hill and Dundreich

Morning bike ride and its very cold, below zero. Almost the same route as Wednesday. The climb out of Auchendinny doesn't quite warm me up as it did then. Once at the top I turn left, cycle over Mount Lothian, then head south passing Toxside. Just before Tweeddaleburn, nothing to do with the River Tweed, this burn heads north and joins the River South Esk, I stop and get a shot across the moor. The grass in the foreground has acovering of frost. the higher Moorfoot hills, Jeffries Corse and Dundreich have snow. Hog Hill is clear.

I cycle to the A703, and at Eddleston, I take the turn signed Lyne via Meldons. This is a climb and descent down to the A72. This time I turn left and head for Lyne Station. I rejoin the A72 to the B7059. This follows the Lyne Water up to Romannobridge. From there I follow the route home that I did on Sunday.

Head through Bogsbank to West Linton, turning on to Deanfoot road takes me to Harlaw Muir and past Auchencrth Moss and Hare Moss. Almost altitude training, its 6 degC this time, the highest and normally coldest part of the ride is the warmest. At Ravensneuk, I join the A701 takes me through Penicuik. I turn off at Gowkley Moss to head back home through Bush and along the Seafield Moor Road.

Total distance is 83.5km, 51 and a bit miles.

A lazy afternoon. I catch up with Facebook and Strava before going for a wee walk. In the park, on south facing slopes, the primroses have made an appearance. Just in time for the blast of cold air we about to receive from Siberia.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.