On the incoming tide

We came north to the beachhouse this morning. Slightly earlier departure from Auckland than last week. Only a few drivers create difficulties by speeding and passing (without significant gains for them), and it was a quiet and essentially stress free drive. I did have to deal with some questions (I'm on call for statutory and managerial matters) both while driving (I have a hands free system) and after getting here. 

Soon after arriving I checked the tides and found it was a little after mid tide on an incoming tide. which drew me down the steps to Southend of Snells Beach. As it was close to midday, there were few waders about. Three kawaupaka (Little pied shags) were tucked away on the rocks they seem to choose to dry off.I couldn't get the right angle and still be close enough due to the depth of the water, and consequent concern about tripping and drowning my camera.

Shortly after I took this photo, the heron flew off, circled around and perched near the top of a tall pohutukawa high on one of the cliffs, where it joined another heron. I couldn't see a nest, but ....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.