A big day in the North

Well certainly a glorious day in the North.
Boring jobs just had to wait again I'm afraid.

I did combine a visit to check on one of my clubs huts (damp and smelly - please hurry up and give us permission to refurbish it National Trust) - but really that was just a justification for heading into the heart of the Lake District on a Saturday.

Pooch and I managed a wonderfully slow and indulgent amble south from Blea Tarn (main) to look at the tumbling little falls by Tarnclose Crag.  We detoured to look at ancient junipers, scanned the high crags for deer, and marvelled at the bracken, but eventually we just sat a while in the sun and chatted, Pushka had much to say.Invigorated and surprisingly warm we then walked back north past the Tarn to the cattlegrid that marks the boundary between the Great & Little dale's of Lang.
That was more than enough for an elderly pooch - I actually felt I could have gone further, but hey, we're a team.

Returning to Prince in the NT carpark I had to laugh at some ineptitude from the NT warden who's given pretty much every vehicle in the car park a ticket - mine was on my windscreen - about 4 inches from where my membership card is permanently displayed. The van next to me had at least half a dozen membership stickers on his side window - he got a ticket too!

It was a day of magnificently vibrant colours on the fells today - so you get treated to an extra as I just couldn't pick one!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.