Little ....

.... and large. This fine chap, nicknamed the Vicar for his white collar, caused much hilarity when he flew up onto this tiny branch and confronted the chaffinch over the bird food. No way would he get onto the feeder. This is a new pheasant. He currently has no tail but otherwise is very handsome. Instead of the delightful warbling of a robin we have been awoken by his rude, lusty, repetitive and monotonous squawk. One for Admirer's silly Saturday challenge. (taken through the less than immaculate kitchen window)

It's been an animal kind of day. First I went into Bantry and popped into the local vet to ask about Fineen and possible mange (and thank you for all you kind comments, concern and advice). I actually talked to two vets who were both very helpful but like me, not entirely sure it is mange - I need to provide a photo. Anyway I have something to apply to her neck or put in her honey sandwiches. I have also brought some homeopathic remedies as recommended by the English Fox Conservation group. I have since taken a photo of the offending area and will show it to the vet on Monday.
Later, whilst wandering around the garden, I heard a pitiful bleat. The first cohort of ewes and lambs arrived in the field next door last week. I went to investigate and there was a small lamb stuck in the ditch/stream which is currently unusually full and muddy due to all the rain. It was stuck up to its shoulders and shivering. I went round to investigate and attempted to get to it but filled both my wellies. I rang the farmer and his wife appeared pretty promptly and after several very muddy attempts, we eventually managed to put two planks across the stream and hoist the lamb on to that! She was very pleased and said he wouldn't have lasted the night and they wouldn't have come by until next morning.  Never a dull moment.

Extra- some rather nice rays on the way home

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.